Goodbye London

Slowly the train rolls out of Euston train station into a mild rain shower. It is as if Manchester is sending a kind reminder not to be too disappointed about the weather back home.

A post shared by Marco Smolla (@marcosmolla) on

Five weeks have I stayed and worked in London. I finished my project I came here for. Even better, I’m happy about my results. What I found? Well, it appears that bumblebees are very capable in distinguishing between an easy and a difficult task. If the task was easy they wouldn’t rely on information (which helps to solve the task) that is right 50% of the time. But if the task was difficult four times more bees readily followed that information. I find that fascinating.

A post shared by Marco Smolla (@marcosmolla) on

Yet, I’ve not only worked here, I’ve also been a Londoner, even if it was only for a short amount time. I commuted in busy rush hour tubes, shopped in restless East End, went for a run in the Olympic Park and along the canals, lived in Hackney, visited pubs in Islington, and of course been around Queen Mary in Tower Hamlets.

A post shared by Marco Smolla (@marcosmolla) on

More than coming around and accomplishing some work I met kind, open, and intellectually stimulating people. It was a delight to stay and work at Lars Chittka’s group where I received support from all sides, had great discussions, and felt welcome as if I would forever have been a part of that group.

Now, it is time to go back home again.